December East Bay Bike Party

Last Friday night, I went with a few friends to the Easy Bay Bike Party for the first time.

I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect…My past experiences with group bike rides have varied from drunk college kids dressing up and riding laps around the small downtown in San Luis Obispo to a community supporting bicycle culture in Oaxaca, Mexico.

This was a new experience though- a great balance of fun, exercise, and community. People dress up according to the theme with flashing lights and glow sticks everywhere, towing boomboxes and whole PA systems, I would recommend it and do it again in a heartbeat. Going all the way from Lake Merritt BART to the water in Alameda and back was a great workout but still a fairly easy, flat ride.

Mercier Elle 2012

Another bonus: it was the most I have ridden my new bike! (My last one got stolen from BART back in September before I went to Mexico so Christmas came early for me this year. It’s the nicest, fastest bike I’ve had.)

Leave a comment